Basic guide to making charity videos: 80s music

September 30, 2009

Sting may not inspire me to the end of the earth, but apparently you can’t beat 80s music and a nicely made video. Sting with the Prince’s Rainforests Project have made a funky little video in a push for pre-Copenhagen support.

I may be a sap for traditional Comic Relief style videos, but this one today grabs at my secret love of 80s music. Although you can’t win me over solely by sticking a Madonna or Sting soundtrack over any old junk – I’m a charity video snob, sorry – I’m a big fan of how this video’s been put together (it cuts in time and has celebs saying their names very seriously in a big list).

For such an serious cause, I do feel a bit too inclined to sign up and then dance around the 80s musical nonsense – though I’m fairly sure that’s the point. (Can we have obnoxious sing-alongs in Trafalgar Square to follow?) But now! To the trashy music vault that is my mp3 player!

Give 10 seconds, or 30 depending on your bandwidth. Sign up here.

Leave a Reply

